Overall win for EUOC at BUCS Orienteering Champs 2018

The rescheduled British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS) Orienteering Championships were held over 28-29th April in Oxford. Originally scheduled for the first weekend in March, the snow put a stop to students from Edinburgh, Heriot Watt, Edinburgh Napier, Glasgow, Strathclyde and Aberdeen competing.

Read More…

Young Orienteer of the Year shortlist

We were absolutely thrilled to receive such excellent nominations for Young Orienteer Of The Year – it was extremely heartwarming to read about the valuable and varied contributions our Junior members make to the sport. Read More…

SOA welcomes two new clubs

Two new clubs – Stirling University Orienteering Club (STUOC) and Masterplan Adventure (MA) – have recently become affiliated to SOA, bringing the total number of clubs in Scotland to 25. Read More…

Scottish Sprint Championships 2018

Many thanks go to FVO for staging the Scottish Sprint Championships 2018 as part of their “Stepping into Spring” weekend. Most of the stepping was into mud or the occasional snow drift still remaining on the University of Stirling campus. The event consisted of two races, a Prologue and Final, but the total of both races counting towards final positions and results ( SOUL results counted separately). Full results are available on the FVO website including links to Winsplits and Routegadget. The latter cannot do justice to the rain and mud. Read More…

Scottish Night Orienteering Championships 2018 Results

Pollok Country Park, 10 February

St Andrews Orienteering Club (Glasgow) organised this year’s Scottish Night Orienteering Championships on a brand new map of Pollok Country Park.  Further information on the STAG website.

ResultsWinSplits and RouteGadget.

Scottish Night Champions 2018

  • M16 no entries
  • M18 Ben Brown   ESOC
  • M20 Tom Nichol  AYROC
  • M21 Josh Dudley  MAROC
  • M35 no entries
  • M40 Michael Atkinson  ELO
  • M45 Fraser Purves  FVO
  • M50 Ben Stansfield  FVO
  • M55 Keith Brown  ESOC
  • M60 Martin Dean  FVO
  • M65 Les Dalgleish  ESOC
  • M70 Phil Smithard  KFO
  • M75 no entries


  • W16 Alice Wilson  CLYDE
  • W18 no entries
  • W20 no entries
  • W21 Rona Lindsay  ESOC
  • W35 no award
  • W40 Heather Thomson  ESOC
  • W45 Hazel Dean  FVO
  • W50 Jane Ackland  INT
  • W55 Christine Patterson  CLYDE
  • W60 Sally Lindsay  ESOC
  • W65 Margaret Dalgleish  ESOC
  • W70 Eleanor Pyrah  ESOC
  • W75 no entries

SOA appoints RDO North

The SOA is delighted to announce the appointment of the new Regional Development Officer North: Sarah Dunn Read More…