The 2023 Scottish Inter-Club Championships kicks off in the breeze

A sheltered hall at the top of Morningside was an ideal location for the presentation of the 2022 Scottish Inter-Club Championship trophies by Peter Hodkinson and Richard Oxlade. Forth Valley Orienteers (FVO)were presented with the Senior and Junior Large Club Trophies (the juniors have to make sure the adults hand over the chocolates!), Roxburgh Reivers (RR) took home the Senior Small Club Trophy and East Lothian Orienteers (ELO) juniors very generously shared their Junior Small Club Trophy spoils with the other juniors in the room.

After the sheltered surroundings of Saturday’s trophy celebrations, the first event of the 2023 Scottish Inter-Club Championship took place in Holyrood Park at Edinburgh University Orienteering Clubs’s (EUOC) Seat Classic Race. The climb to the starts then saw competitors racing up and down and up and down Arthur’s Seat in gusty conditions.

This year’s Inter-Club Championship sees clubs compete over twelve geographically spread events with one event taking place each month. In the large clubs the best 20 scorers over 7 events and in the small clubs the best 10 scorers over 7 events will be used to determine the overall positions.

The central location of this event saw the local clubs take full advantage of the higher number of their members attending the events. In the senior large clubs, FVO pipped Edinburgh Southern Orienteering Club (ESOC) to the top spot with ELO lying in third. In the junior large clubs FVO again claimed top spot with ELO in second and ESOC in third.

In the senior small clubs, Clydeside Orienteers beat off EUOC and St Andrew’s Orienteering Club Glasgow (STAG) to claim the top spot. RR claimed the lead in the Junior small clubs.

A full breakdown of results can be found here

The 2nd event of the championship will take place on 12th February at the Compass Sport Cup/ Trophy Heat being hosted by STAG at Faskally. Get that date in your diary to make sure your club gets points for your run towards the Inter-Club Championship.