Scottish Selections for Junior Inter Regional Championships 2019

The Scottish team has been selected for the 2019 British Junior Inter Regional Championships, which take place over the weekend of 28th/29th September in South Yorkshire.

The British Junior Inter Regional Championships (JIRCS) is a yearly competition where junior teams from the 12 British regions compete over a weekend, with both individual and relay races.

Many congratulations to those have been selected.

Congratulations also to the Scottish Juniors (Eilidh Campbell, Megan Keith, Grace Molloy, Alice Wilson, Lizzie Stansfield, Matthew Gooch and Peter Molloy) who will be competing as part of the British team in the Junior European Cup in France on the same weekend.

The Junior Home International (JHI) and Junior Inter Regional (JIRC) competitions are the peak of junior racing in Britain. Scotland has recently developed an enviable record in both races – winning them both regularly in the past few years. The selection of teams from a nation as strong in juniors as Scotland is tricky – there is a desire to pick the strongest possible teams but also a need to widen the opportunities to as many juniors as possible.  To try to balance these 2 conflicting aims the teams this year were picked as follows:

  • JHI – pick the strongest team possible based on spring season races  
  • The JIRC team aimed to have the 2 best in each age group and, where possible to offer 2 other runners the chance to represent Scotland.

Over a season junior performances can change relative to one another and so selection is always partially an exercise in hope and expectation rather than an exact science.  There are good reasons why juniors have been selected or not.

The teams for the JIRC have several juniors who are not yet in ScotJOS which shows the strength and depth of Scottish Junior orienteering.


  • Catriona Chapman
  • Isobel Howard
  • Iris MacMillan
  • Maja Robertson
  • Non travelling reserve:  Daisy McNamara


  • Rachel Brown
  • Pippa Carcas
  • Anna Cox
  • Amber Graham
  • Non travelling reserve:  Hannah Kingham


  • Kirsty Campbell
  • Izzy Cox
  • Mairi Eades
  • Kat McGougan
  • Non travelling reserve:   Mairi Weir


  • Adam Barrie
  • James Hammond
  • Angus Laird
  • Thomas Ross
  • Non travelling reserve:    Sam Bartlett


  • Joel Gooch
  • Pierre Lardet
  • Ewan Musgrave
  • Oscar Shepherd
  • Non travelling reserve:   Al McCartney


  • Ben Brown
  • Daniel Campbell
  • Alastair Chapman
  • Louis MacMillan
  • Non travelling reserve:  John Getliff