Scottish team heads to World Schools Championships

This year’s World Schools Championships in Orienteering (WSCO) is being held from 29 April – 5 May in Estonia. Scotland will be represented by a team of 15 athletes from throughout the country, and three coaches.

Due to the clash with the start of the SQA exam schedule Scotland has been unable to send any athletes in the older age category so, for the first time in many years, we will have a complete team of first-time competitors.

The championships have attracted record interest with 30 countries completing stage 1 and 2 of the ever-more-complicated registration process, and the potential of a start list of around 700 athletes.

On Monday the team will be transported to the Event Centre at Otepää, which looks to have terrific facilities, to complete our accreditation and settle into our accommodation.

Tuesday offers the opportunity of a model event in terrain similar to the two main competition areas, and then later in the day the Scottish contingent will participate in the Opening Ceremony, accompanied by our piper Alastair McCartney from Lomond School.

There will be three days of competition, with the Long and Middle Distance races being followed by the Friendship Team Event. The Friendship event sees teams of three being selected following the Long races, with a range of abilities and Nationalities being combined to complete what is, in effect, a team score event.

Over the years this has been held on a variety of terrains from woodland to urban, and in 2008 this race was hosted in Holyrood Park.

In previous years participation in the World Schools has led to further and greater success for our young athletes, and hopefully one or two of this year’s crop will go on to compete at a high level as they move through the age groups.

You can follow the Scottish team via the Scottish Schools Orienteering Association Facebook page:

You can follow the event at:

Team Scotland – World Schools Championship Orienteering 2019

M2 Champion School – George Heriot’s School

  • Angus Ivory
  • Amius Marshall De’ath
  • Tomas McDonald
  • Eunus Rehman
  • Thomas Thin

W2 Scotland Select

  • Catriona Chapman, Banchory Academy
  • Iris MacMillan, Lochgilphead High School
  • Daisy McNamara, Arran High School
  • Charlotte Reynolds, Aboyne Academy
  • Kirsten Robertson, Bearsden Academy

M2 Scotland Select

  • Adam Barrie, Mearns Academy
  • Sam Griffin, Aberdeen Grammar
  • Alastair McCartney, Lomond School
  • Ewan Musgrave, Aboyne Academy
  • Jonas Newey, Banchory Academy