Junior Home Internationals 2012

It was always going to be difficult to beat England on their home soil, but it was a confident team who arrived at the start line on Saturday for the Individual Event at Headley Heath, and there were some great Scottish results:

Pride of place must go to a clean sweep for Scotland in the W14 class, with Emma Wilson (CLYDE) in first place, followed by Clare Stansfield (FVO) in 2nd and  Abigail Mason (MAROC) in 3rd.

Chris Galloway (INT) was the winner of  M18. There were also podium places for Daniel Stansfield (FVO), 2nd in M16 and  Briony Kincaid (ECKO) 3rd in W16.

The M16 class was very hotly contested with Daniel only 7 seconds behind  English number one and GB squad member Dane Blomquist.  The first 4 finishers were within 30 seconds of each other with Sasha Chepelin (GRAMP) unlucky to be in 4th place.  Other 4th places were  achieved by M14 Ross McMurtrie (MAROC) and W16 Jenny Ricketts (MAROC). However, the English team came 1st overall, beating Scotland by 83 points to 68.  Ireland just pipped Wales by 33 points to 32.

Prizes were presented at the Saturday evening social at High Ashurst Outdoor Centre by GB World Championships team member and British  Champion Sarah Rollins.

Sunday’s Relay Event was held in beautiful sunshine at Wisley Common.  There were some good individual results here, in particular Sasha Chepelin who was first back in the boys’ race, but  with each team made up of one 16, one 14 and one 18, the strength in depth of the English teams was just  too great and Scotland came second.  Wales just beat Ireland overall to win the Judith Wingham Trophy for their own contest.

Full results and photos can be found on the competition website.

The following team were selected:


Kathryn Barr
Abigail Mason
Clare Stansfield
Emma Wilson


Briony Kincaid
Evelyn Mason
Bronwyn Matthews
Jennifer Ricketts


Rona Lindsay
Katrina McLeod
Rhona McMillan
Rozy Shepherd


Alex Carcas
Callum Hunter (injured pre-event)
Samuel Galloway
Ross McMurtrie
Rowan White


Alexander Chepelin
Matthew Galloway
Daniel Stansfield
Thomas Wilson


Joshua Dudley
Christopher Galloway
Andrew Lindsay
Craig Nolan

ScotJOS – sponsored by Apache